Get free quotes
Home › Service areas › Missouri

Spray foam insulation quotes in Missouri

St. Louis area, climate zone 4A, with no mandatory statewide residential energy code.

Get up to 3 spray foam quotes in Missouri

Our Missouri service area

AreaCountyZoneMedian year builtPre-1980Gas heatHeating degree days
St. LouisSt. Louis city4A193886%67%4,292

Electric utilities in our Missouri counties

Union Electric Co - (MO) (12.6¢/kWh); City of Kirkwood - (MO) (14.4¢/kWh).

EIA-861 2024 residential prices.

Missouri energy code

No mandatory statewide residential energy code. Missouri jurisdictions adopt their own energy codes; NAHB lists St. Louis among the major municipalities that have done so. (NAHB)

Missouri leaves the energy code to each city and county

Missouri has no statewide residential energy code. The U.S. Department of Energy lists Missouri's current state code as "Home Rule," with "Jurisdictional" enforcement, and records no code certification submitted by the state. DOE's modeling rates the patchwork as equivalent to the 2015 IECC overall. It also estimates that a statewide 2024 IECC would add $7,876 to the first cost of a new home and save $427 a year, a simple payback of 18.5 years.

The Missouri Department of Natural Resources publishes lists of building codes adopted by county and by city on the State of Missouri Data Portal. It says the lists leave out local amendments and that "the most current information may be obtained by contacting the local jurisdiction." Before you compare insulation bids, ask your city or county building department which code edition, if any, applies to the work.

Sources: U.S. DOE Building Energy Codes Program, Missouri status; Missouri DNR, Energy Codes by Jurisdiction.

Climate zones by county

PNNL's county data for the 2021 IECC map puts 87 of Missouri's 115 counties and independent cities in zone 4A, 26 in zone 5A and 2 in zone 3A. Compared with the earlier map, Buchanan, Caldwell, Chariton and Clinton counties moved from zone 5 to zone 4, and Dunklin and Pemiscot moved from zone 4 to zone 3. Which map a local code uses depends on the edition it adopted.

Missouri counties by 2021 IECC climate zone (PNNL-33270 data files)
ZoneCounties
5A (Cold), 26Adair, Andrew, Atchison, Clark, Daviess, DeKalb, Gentry, Grundy, Harrison, Holt, Knox, Lewis, Linn, Livingston, Macon, Marion, Mercer, Nodaway, Pike, Putnam, Ralls, Schuyler, Scotland, Shelby, Sullivan, Worth
4A (Mixed-Humid), 87Audrain, Barry, Barton, Bates, Benton, Bollinger, Boone, Buchanan, Butler, Caldwell, Callaway, Camden, Cape Girardeau, Carroll, Carter, Cass, Cedar, Chariton, Christian, Clay, Clinton, Cole, Cooper, Crawford, Dade, Dallas, Dent, Douglas, Franklin, Gasconade, Greene, Henry, Hickory, Howard, Howell, Iron, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Laclede, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Maries, McDonald, Miller, Mississippi, Moniteau, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, New Madrid, Newton, Oregon, Osage, Ozark, Perry, Pettis, Phelps, Platte, Polk, Pulaski, Randolph, Ray, Reynolds, Ripley, Saline, Scott, Shannon, St. Charles, St. Clair, St. Francois, St. Louis City, St. Louis County, Ste. Genevieve, Stoddard, Stone, Taney, Texas, Vernon, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wright
3A (Mixed-Humid), 2Dunklin, Pemiscot

Sources: PNNL-33270, Guide to Determining Climate Zone by County: Building America and IECC 2021 Updates (data files).

Utility rebates across Missouri, and whether foam counts

Missouri's Public Service Commission lists energy efficiency programs for three regulated electric utilities (Ameren Missouri, Evergy Missouri Metro and Missouri West, and Empire District Electric, a Liberty company) and for gas utilities including Spire, Ameren Missouri, Liberty and Summit Natural Gas. Their insulation offers differ more on fine print than on price.

Missouri utility insulation offers and their fine print, checked October 22, 2026
Utility and programInsulation offerDoes spray foam qualify?Fine print
Ameren Missouri, Pay As You Save (electric)Full for 2026: no new PAYS enrollments. $0.20 per sq ft for ceiling or attic insulation; $0.06 per sq ft for air sealing; duct sealing at 50% of cost up to $250. Valid January 1 to December 31, 2026, but Ameren's PAYS page says Whole Home PAYS and FastTrack HVAC PAYS are "no longer accepting enrollments for 2026" because the program "has been fully subscribed"No for the attic rebate as written: the chart defines it as "Installation of blown-in cellulose insulation to a minimum of R-38"Must take part in tier 4 of PAYS and have lived in the home for the past 12 months. The attic must start at R-20 or below. Air sealing must reach a 20% leakage reduction. The monthly PAYS charge, which includes 3% interest, can't exceed 80% of the estimated monthly savings
Ameren Missouri with Spire, CommunitySavers Single FamilyNo-cost upgrades that may include attic insulationNot statedIncome-eligible homes with four or fewer units: subsidized housing, income at or below 80% of area median or 200% of the federal poverty level, or a high-need area. Runs through December 31, 2026, "dependent on available funds"
Evergy Missouri, Insulation and Air Sealing RebateThe posted chart is for 2024: $0.20 per sq ft for R-38 ceiling insulation (maximum $650) and $0.06 for air sealing (maximum $400). 2026 amounts: none posted that we foundNot statedOnly Evergy-Authorized Trade Allies can offer it, and the Energy Savings Kit home assessment comes first. Checks arrive 6 to 8 weeks after paperwork. The 2024 chart says Spire gas customers could get both the Evergy and Spire rebates
Spire Missouri (gas)$0.40 per sq ft up to $750 for ceiling, attic or floor insulation reaching at least R-38Not excluded by name; the form doesn't name a materialRetrofits only, not new builds. Installs must be by "licensed HVAC or plumbing contractors"; self-installs don't qualify. The program year runs October 1 to September 30. The form we read (25-SR-MOW) was posted in October 2025; we didn't find a newer one, so confirm the current amount with Spire
Liberty, Energize Liberty Homes (gas)Audit paid up to $500. Tier 1: 35% of eligible cost up to $2,000 when building-shell upgrades save 10% of natural gas. Tier 2: 50% up to $5,000 at 20% gas savings, with shell measures installed before equipment. Liberty's 2024 terms set different targets (30% less air infiltration and an R-49 attic for tier 1; a 94% furnace for tier 2), so confirm which appliesNot statedOwner-occupied homes only; new construction and mobile homes excluded. Can't be combined with other Liberty or State of Missouri rebates or weatherization. Do-it-yourself labor isn't eligible. Contractors must be registered with the Missouri Secretary of State
Liberty / Empire District (electric)None found: Liberty's Missouri electric list shows low-income weatherization and manufacturer rebates, no insulation rebaten/aConfirm with Liberty

Spray foam buyers in Ameren territory should not count on PAYS this year: 2026 enrollment is full, and the 2026 chart names blown-in cellulose for the attic rebate. In each case, confirm with the utility that your exact job qualifies before you count the rebate.

Sources: Missouri Public Service Commission, Energy Efficiency / Assistance Programs; Ameren Missouri, Pay As You Save rebate chart (valid January 1 to December 31, 2026); Ameren Missouri, Pay As You Save (PAYS); Ameren Missouri, CommunitySavers Single Family Program; Evergy, Missouri 2024 rebate chart (PDF); Evergy, Trade Ally Portal FAQ; Evergy, Energy Savings Kit; Spire, residential rebate form 25-SR-MOW (posted October 2025, PDF); Liberty, Energize Liberty Homes (Missouri gas); Liberty, Energize Liberty Homes terms and conditions (2024, PDF); Liberty, residential rebates by state.

Free weatherization for income-eligible households

The Missouri DNR funds a network of 18 local weatherization agencies. Typical work includes air sealing, attic, sidewall and floor insulation, duct insulation and heating and cooling repairs. DOE's guidelines treat households at or below 200% of the poverty level, or receiving Supplemental Security Income, as eligible. Homeowners qualify, and so do tenants with their landlord's permission. The agency verifies income, an auditor tests the home, a crew or contractor does the work, and a quality control inspector checks it. DNR reports more than 193,000 Missouri homes weatherized since 1977. Evergy customers who want its insulation rebate must first complete Evergy's Energy Savings Kit, which includes a home energy assessment.

Sources: Missouri DNR, Weatherization; Missouri DNR, Low-income Weatherization Assistance; U.S. DOE, How to Apply for Weatherization Assistance; Evergy, Trade Ally Portal FAQ.

Missouri tax breaks for insulation: none found for 2026

Missouri used to let taxpayers subtract the cost of a home energy audit by a DNR-certified auditor, and of the improvements it recommended, up to $1,000 a year for one filer or $2,000 on a combined return. Section 143.121 says that provision "shall expire on December 31, 2020." DNR's current financial assistance list includes the Show-Me Green Sales Tax Holiday, which covers "qualifying ENERGY STAR® certified new appliances," not insulation. We found no current Missouri tax credit or deduction for insulating a home.

Sources: Revised Statutes of Missouri, section 143.121; Missouri DNR, Energy Financial Assistance Opportunities.

Contractor licensing is local

We found no state license for insulation contractors in Missouri. Cities set the rules. Kansas City requires a business license, a Certificate of Qualification in the trade (residential builders need a Residential Building Supervisor certificate), and then a contractor license under Article XII of its Building and Rehabilitation Code. The City of St. Louis requires a Construction Industry Contractor Graduated Business License, and general contractors must give the License Collector a list of subcontractors on any job. Outside those cities, ask the city or county permit office what an insulation job needs.

Sources: City of Kansas City, MO, Contractor Licensing; City of St. Louis, Apply for a Construction - Contracting Business License.

Test for radon before and after air sealing

Missouri's Department of Health and Senior Services says radon "comes from the breakdown of uranium in soil and may enter homes" and calls it "the #1 cause of lung cancer among non-smokers." It mails free test kits to Missouri residents, one per household, and advises action above 4.0 pCi/L. Its instructions say to test the lowest occupied level with doors and windows kept closed for 12 hours before the test. ENERGY STAR notes that sealing a house can trap radon and that EPA recommends a test after reducing air leaks, which matters for a spray foam job that seals a basement or crawl space.

Sources: Missouri DHSS, Radon; Missouri DHSS, Radon Testing; ENERGY STAR, Attic Air Sealing Project.

Utility insulation programs

Ameren Missouri Pay As You Save (PAYS)

Status: Full for 2026: no new PAYS enrollments

Eligible: Ameren Missouri residential electric customers in tier 4 of PAYS who have lived in the home for the past 12 months. Ameren says Whole Home PAYS and FastTrack HVAC PAYS are no longer accepting enrollments for 2026.

Within PAYS tier 4: $0.20/sq ft for attic insulation, which Ameren's 2026 chart defines as blown-in cellulose taken from R-20 or below to at least R-38, and $0.06/sq ft for air sealing with a 20% leakage reduction. Spray foam is not the material its attic rebate names.

Checked October 16, 2026.

Missouri state Home Energy Rebates

Not yet launched Inflation Reduction Act (IRA) Home Energy Rebates Program

HEAR (appliances): "Please note that details about rebate eligibility and how to apply are not finalized at this time. The department cannot provide an estimate as to when rebates will be available to the public. The rebates may not be made available until 2027 at the earliest and potentially as late as 2028."

HOMES/HER (whole-home): "Please note that details about rebate eligibility and how to apply are not finalized at this time. The department cannot provide an estimate as to when rebates will be available to the public. The rebates may not be made available until 2027 at the earliest and potentially as late as 2028."

Source: Missouri Department of Natural Resources. Status as of August 25, 2026. Full Missouri rebate page →

Cost ranges and foam basics: spray foam guide.