Get free quotes

What spray foam costs in Colorado Springs, CO (October 2026)

Rates and rebate terms checked October 19, 2026.

Spray foam insulation in Colorado Springs costs $0.60 to $3.10 per board foot installed, so foaming a 1,300 square foot attic floor to R-49 runs about $10,600 to $29,000 before any rebate. R-49 is the attic level Colorado Springs Utilities requires for its insulation rebate, and that rebate pays 40% of the cost, up to $1,250 for the attic. A bid for a crawl space or an opened-up wall is much smaller: $2,200 to $6,500 on our sample house at the R-values CSU requires.

The per-board-foot rates are Angi's national figures. No Colorado Springs spray foam rate is published anywhere we looked, so each local total here is our own calculation from those rates.

Before and after the Colorado Springs Utilities rebate

Colorado Springs spray foam cost before and after the CSU insulation rebate, October 2026
Part of the houseFoam and depthInstalled costCSU rebate (40%, max $1,250)You pay after the rebate
Attic floor, 1,300 sq ft, R-49Open-cell, 13.6 in$10,600 to $28,300$1,250$9,350 to $27,050
Attic floor, 1,300 sq ft, R-49Closed-cell, 6.9 to 7.2 in$11,700 to $29,000$1,250$10,450 to $27,750
Underside of roof deck, 1,453 sq ft, R-49Closed-cell, 6.9 to 7.2 in$13,000 to $32,500Ask CSU (see below)$11,750 to $31,250 if CSU accepts it
Crawl space walls and rim, 798 sq ft, R-15 continuousClosed-cell, 2.1 to 2.2 in$2,200 to $5,500$880 to $1,250$1,320 to $4,250
2x4 exterior walls, 1,100 sq ft, R-13Closed-cell, 1.8 to 1.9 in$2,600 to $6,500$1,040 to $1,250$1,560 to $5,250
2x4 exterior walls, 1,100 sq ft, filledOpen-cell, 3.5 in (R-12.6)$2,300 to $6,200$0, below R-13$2,300 to $6,200
2x6 exterior walls, 1,100 sq ft, filledOpen-cell, 5.5 in (R-19.8)$3,600 to $9,700$1,250$2,350 to $8,450
Attic floor (closed-cell), crawl space and 2x4 walls togetherAs above$16,500 to $41,000$3,170 to $3,750$13,330 to $37,250

The $1,250 ceiling applies once one category costs $3,125, because 40% of $3,125 is $1,250. Every attic line above is past that point even at the low end, so an attic foam job gets a flat $1,250 back whether it costs $11,000 or $29,000. Crawl space and wall jobs land close to the ceiling, so the full 40% matters more there. The $3,750 total takes all three categories.

Sources: Colorado Springs Utilities, Insulation & air sealing rebate; Colorado Springs Utilities, Residential rebate program rules.

Where the numbers come from

Spray foam rate inputs for the Colorado Springs math
InputOpen-cellClosed-cellPublished
Angi, installed, per board foot$0.60 to $1.60$1.30 to $3.10Updated Sep 9, 2026
HomeGuide, installed, per square foot$1.50 to $3.50$3.00 to $5.00Dec 1, 2025
HomeGuide, typical minimum job fee$1,000 to $2,000 or moreDec 1, 2025
R-value per inch used hereR-3.6R-6.8 to R-7.1Profoam product sheet

A board foot is one square foot of foam one inch thick. Inches needed = target R-value ÷ R per inch. Board feet = area × inches. Cost = board feet × the low or high Angi rate, rounded to the nearest $100, with the thinner closed-cell depth paired with the low rate. The rebate is 40% of each rounded total, capped at $1,250.

Our sample house is invented for illustration. It is not a median Colorado Springs home:

HomeGuide's per-square-foot prices assume ordinary foam depths. Applied to our crawl space they give $2,394 to $3,990, and to the walls $3,300 to $5,500 closed-cell, both inside our board-foot ranges. They badly undercount a 13-inch-deep attic fill.

Sources: Angi, "How Much Does Spray Foam Insulation Cost? [2026 Data]" (updated Sep 9, 2026); HomeGuide, "How Much Does Spray Foam Insulation Cost? (2026)" (Dec 1, 2025); Profoam product price sheet.

Attic: R-49 is where foam gets expensive

Colorado Springs Utilities pays the attic rebate only at R-49, and only when the job includes bypass air sealing. CSU defines bypasses as hidden air passageways that lead from the heated space into the attic.

At R-49, open-cell foam has to be about 13.6 inches deep (49 ÷ 3.6). Closed-cell needs 6.9 to 7.2 inches (49 ÷ 7.1 and 49 ÷ 6.8). On 1,300 square feet that is 17,694 board feet of open-cell or 8,972 to 9,368 board feet of closed-cell.

ENERGY STAR sets a higher bar for an attic with no insulation at all in climate zone 5: R-60. Foam alone at R-60 means 16.7 inches of open-cell ($13,000 to $34,700 on our attic) or 8.5 to 8.8 inches of closed-cell ($14,300 to $35,600). If you already have 3 to 4 inches of old insulation up there, ENERGY STAR's figure for adding drops to R-49.

CSU's own rebate page says that "Upgrading insulation costs around $3,000–$5,000." That line covers insulation upgrades in general and does not mention spray foam. A foam-only attic at R-49 costs two to six times that much on Angi's rates. Some bidders may propose a thin foam layer for air sealing with a cheaper loose fill on top. We have no sourced local price for that combination, so ask each bidder to quote it separately.

Roof deck foam and the rebate. CSU's program rules say that "exterior insulation above roof deck can be used for cathedral ceilings." They say nothing about foam sprayed on the underside of the deck, so ask CSU before you count on $1,250 for a roof-deck job.

Sources: Colorado Springs Utilities, Insulation & air sealing rebate; Colorado Springs Utilities, Residential rebate program rules; ENERGY STAR, Recommended home insulation R-values.

Crawl space: four things CSU checks

The CSU crawl space rebate requires R-15 continuous insulation and four specific pieces of work:

  1. A Class I vapor retarder installed.
  2. Air leaks between the crawl space and outside sealed, including cracks, joints, holes and vents in the walls and rim joists.
  3. Foundation walls insulated.
  4. Rim joists insulated.

Closed-cell foam can cover the second, third and fourth requirements in one application. Reaching R-15 takes 2.1 to 2.2 inches (15 ÷ 7.1 and 15 ÷ 6.8), so our 798 sq ft crawl space uses 1,686 to 1,760 board feet and costs $2,200 to $5,500. The ground cover in the first requirement is a separate cost we did not price. Since CSU pays 40% of the total cost, the vapor retarder raises the rebate too until you hit $1,250. We priced only closed-cell foam for the crawl space.

Sources: Colorado Springs Utilities, Residential rebate program rules.

Walls: why 2x4 open-cell misses

CSU's wall rule is R-13 in the cavity, or R-5 or more if you add continuous insulation outside the studs. A 2x4 cavity is 3.5 inches deep. Filled with open-cell at R-3.6 per inch, it reaches R-12.6, which is short of R-13, so on our numbers that wall earns no CSU rebate. Closed-cell clears R-13 at 1.8 to 1.9 inches. A 2x6 wall filled with open-cell reaches R-19.8 and qualifies.

Spray foam needs an open cavity, so a wall job in an existing home normally happens when the drywall or the siding is already coming off. CSU also counts air sealing and insulation at exterior non-roof overhangs as a wall project. Garages are excluded.

Sources: Colorado Springs Utilities, Residential rebate program rules; Profoam product price sheet.

Outside CSU territory: Black Hills Energy and MVEA

Not every address near Colorado Springs is a CSU account. Black Hills Energy's Colorado gas tariff lists natural gas service in Fountain, Monument, Palmer Lake, Green Mountain Falls, and unincorporated Black Forest, Gleneagle, Peyton, Woodmoor, Cascade–Chipita Park and Security–Widefield in El Paso County.

Black Hills Energy's 2026 Colorado residential rebate application pays per square foot instead of a percentage:

Black Hills Energy 2026 Colorado gas insulation rebates
Black Hills Energy measureRequirementRebateOn our example house
Ceiling or attic insulationR-49 or more$0.49 per sq ft, up to $8901,300 × $0.49 = $637
Ceiling or attic insulationR-60 or more$0.60 per sq ft, up to $1,0901,300 × $0.60 = $780
Wall insulationR-13 or more, or max fill$0.25 per sq ft, up to $6801,100 × $0.25 = $275
Crawl space insulationR-13 or R-19 or more, in unconditioned space$0.25 per sq ft, up to $500 or $575Area basis not stated
Rim and band joistR-19 or more$0.25 per sq ft, up to $200Not computed
Whole-home air sealingNo R-value70% of cost, up to $690Not priced

Black Hills sets its own conditions. Black Hills must supply the main heating fuel, the home must be at least five years old, the work must be finished in calendar 2026, and the application is due by January 31, 2027. Applications are processed first come, first served until the budget runs out. The Black Hills rebate is paid by check, where CSU credits your utility account. Whether one address can combine a CSU rebate with a Black Hills one is not stated, so ask both.

Mountain View Electric Association, an electric cooperative with offices in Falcon and Limon, funds its rebates with its power supplier, Tri-State Generation and Transmission. Insulation is not among the rebate categories we could read on MVEA's 2026 rebate page. MVEA's On-Bill Repayment program lets a member repay qualifying upgrades on the electric bill for up to 10 years, and the CEO's January 2026 article says the On-Bill Repayment and rebate programs support upgrades such as insulation. We found no published insulation terms, so ask MVEA directly.

Sources: Black Hills Colorado Gas tariff, territories served (PDF); Black Hills Energy, Colorado gas residential rebates; Black Hills Energy, 2026 Colorado residential rebate application (PDF; the amounts appear only here); Mountain View Electric Association, Energy Efficiency Rebates; Mountain View Electric Association, Rebates & Incentives; Mountain View Electric Association, "Small Changes, Big Impact" (CEO article, January 2026).

The code and climate behind the R-values

The Pikes Peak Regional Building Department enforces one code across Colorado Springs, El Paso County and nearby towns. Effective June 30, 2026, that code is the 2023 Pikes Peak Regional Building Code, 2nd Printing, which adopts the 2021 IRC and the 2021 IECC along with Colorado's model electric-ready and solar-ready code. The City of Colorado Springs adopted the 2023 code through Ordinance 23-16, passed by City Council on March 28, 2023, approved by the Mayor on March 30, effective April 10 and implemented June 30, 2023. Manitou Springs, Green Mountain Falls, Fountain, Palmer Lake, Monument, El Paso County and Woodland Park adopted it the same spring, and Calhan joined in June 2026.

El Paso County is climate zone 5B in the 2021 IECC assignments, cold and dry, according to PNNL's county data. ENERGY STAR's retrofit guidance for zone 5, based on the 2021 IECC, is:

Those cold-climate levels are why foam depth, more than the per-foot rate, sets the size of a Colorado Springs attic bill. Whether a retrofit must meet the 2021 IECC table is a question for PPRBD or your installer.

Sources: Pikes Peak Regional Building Department, Code information; Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, county climate zone data files; ENERGY STAR, Recommended home insulation R-values.

Tax credit and Colorado state money

There is no federal tax credit for spray foam installed in 2026. The IRS says the 25C Energy Efficient Home Improvement Credit "will not be allowed for any property placed in service after December 31, 2025."

The Colorado Energy Office's HEAR single-family program, which listed up to $1,600 for insulation, air sealing and ventilation, is closed for Region 1, which includes El Paso County. Its HER whole-home rebates are planned in 2026 for manufactured and mobile homes and for large multifamily buildings. For an ordinary single-family Colorado Springs house, we found no open state insulation rebate. Our 2026 insulation rebate tracker logs program openings and closures.

Sources: IRS, FAQs on Public Law 119-21 (One Big Beautiful Bill) changes to 25C and related credits; Colorado Energy Office, Home Energy Rebates (updated August 2026).

Your CSU rebate calendar

  1. January 1 to December 31: the insulation has to be bought and installed in the same calendar year, by a Colorado contractor, in a home that is not new construction.
  2. At the job: get an itemized receipt on the contractor's letterhead with the product, cost, payment and date. CSU asks you to write "n/a" for make and model and "1" for quantity.
  3. By January 31 of the next year: submit the application through My Account, by email to products@csu.org, or by mail, postmarked no later than January 31.
  4. Up to 8 weeks later: the rebate shows up as a credit on your CSU account. Funds are first come, first served.
  5. Within 60 days of a denial: CSU's deadline for any inquiry about it.

Sources: Colorado Springs Utilities, Insulation & air sealing rebate; Colorado Springs Utilities, Residential rebate program rules.

Getting Colorado Springs bids

Ask each bidder to write the foam type, the inches, the square footage and the R-value for every area, and to confirm the job meets the CSU or Black Hills rule for that area. Then hold the totals up against the rebate table at the top. ZIP coverage and housing data are on the Colorado Springs spray foam page, and other Colorado areas on our Colorado page.

Get up to 3 spray foam quotes in Colorado Springs

Colorado Springs spray foam FAQ

Can I spray foam my own attic and still get the CSU rebate?

No. CSU's rules say the work must be done by a Colorado contractor and that do-it-yourself work does not qualify.

Does foam on the underside of the roof count as attic insulation for CSU?

Ask CSU. Its rules mention only exterior insulation above the roof deck for cathedral ceilings and say nothing either way about foam sprayed under the deck. CSU takes rebate questions at energyrebates@csu.org.

My house was built last year. Can I get a rebate for adding foam?

Not from CSU, whose insulation rebates are for retrofits only. Black Hills Energy's envelope rebates also need a home at least five years old.

Why does a Colorado Springs attic cost so much more than the $3,000 to $5,000 CSU mentions?

CSU's figure is for insulation upgrades in general. Getting to R-49 with foam alone takes 6.9 to 13.6 inches, depending on the foam, and that depth drives the price.